ESCAPE ARTISTS: Brittle China (shards EP)


6-track EP with recordings from the unreleased album Brittle China is now published 28 years later.


From hiding, properly dusted off and remastered, 6 songs come to the surface. Recorded at Haderslev Katedralskole during the summer of 1983 with Jan Michael Jensen as producer, and the band acting as technicians and co- producers, Brittle China was scheduled to be the follow-up on the bands appearance on the compilation Somewhere Outside published by Irmgardz.


For reasons long forgotten, Brittle China was never released and instead the band spent their savings on the 7” single The Howl. Many years have passed, and new funding has been raked together. This together with the fact that several of the songs from the EP are still in the band’s live set, means that now the Brittle China (shards EP) is a reality. On the popular date 11-11-11, the EP was released as digital download and Print-On-Demand CDR.


The producer Jan Michael Jensen, who in hindsight must be acknowledged as Haderslev’s equivalent of Manchester’s Martin Hannett (producer of e.g. Joy Division), will not be able to enjoy the remastered EP since he died in 2006 – much too soon.


The song Fourteen spearheads the EP, and all songs can be heard on this site.